A DOST scholar from Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) wins this year’s BPI-DOST Science Awards for her research project, “Utilization of e. deglupta as a Green Collector.” She received a P25,000 cash award and a plaque of recognition.BPI Science Awards 2016

Yvonne Kaye Perocillo is one of the five college students from Region 10 and among the selected few graduating students who capped the 2016 BPI-DOST Science Awards for their research projects.

The other two awardees from Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (IIT) include Jhed Mherson Cabreros and Kristelle Lou Ompad. Cabreros won for his research project, “Copper Bleed Electrolyte as Source of Rare Earth Metals” while Kristille Lou G. Ompad’s winning research project is the “Evaluation of Gold Deportment in Gold Mine Tailings of Rosario, Agusan del Sur.”

Two other young researchers from Xavier University were also among the winners, namely: Kent Reymart T. Anabieza for his research project “Chemometrics-Assisted Chelometric Dispersive Liquid-Liquid Microextraction System for Flame Atomic Absorption Spectrometric Determination of Ultra-Trace Cu(II) in Water Samples” and Melody Kimberly D. Pitoc for her project, “Determination of Operating Parameters for the Fast Oxidative Pyrolysis of Napier Grass in a Fluidized Bed Reactor.”

“To BPI Foundation and DOST, thank you for this opportunity to contribute to significant changes through our science researches,” says one of XU winners Kent Reymart Anabieza.

The awarding program for both MSU-IIT and Xavier University was held last May 19, attended by DOST-Lanao del Norte Provincial Director Ferdinand Soliven and DOST-Misamis Oriental Director Junelyn-Louvena Ruiz, respectively.

BPI Science Awards 2016A

Now on its 26th year, the BPI-DOST Science Awards has recognized over 700 outstanding science awardees from its partner universities: Ateneo de Manila University, Ateneo de Davao University, De La Salle University, Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology, Saint Louis University, Silliman University, University of the Philippines-Diliman, University of the Philippines-Los Banos, University of San Carlos, University of Santo Tomas, and Xavier University.

The Department of Science and Technology, in partnership with the BPI Foundation, set up the Science Awards to inspire, recognize, and support the most outstanding young scientists and innovators from across the Philippines.

Three exceptional student-researchers are selected per partner-school every year. An awardee is selected on the merit of his/her academic performance and must be nominated by the school.

The science competition enables a new generation of leaders to address competitive issues in science, research and technology development and challenges them to create lasting impacts in society. # (Tess Superioridad Baluyos, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)